Apply: Carolyn C. Mattingly Award for Mental Health Reporting

The National Press Foundation and the Luv u Project established the Carolyn C. Mattingly Award for Mental Health Reporting in 2015 to honor excellence in mental health reporting. It is named in memory of the Potomac, Maryland philanthropist and activist. Mattingly’s family decided to establish the award in the aftermath of her tragic death in 2014.

The $10,000 award is open to U.S.-based journalists, in any media. It recognizes exemplary journalism that illuminates and advances the understanding of mental health issues and treatments for the illness. Applications are due by March 4, 2024.

Past recipients include Colorado Public Radio’s Dan Boyce (2020), who produced “The Long Lonely Lake,” an autobiographical portrait of severe depression and recovery, aired as a special episode of CPR’s “Back from Broken” series about mental illness and addiction; and Susan Greene and Niki Turner (2019), whose story on how the killing of a mentally ill man by a police officer changed a community appeared in the Colorado Independent and the Herald Times.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

More Opportunities

The True Story Award

The True Story Award is the first global journalism prize. Its aim is to make reporters’ voices known beyond the borders of their home countries,

View Details