Best of the West Journalism Competition

The Best of the West contest rewards journalistic excellence and promotes freedom of information. It is administered by First Amendment Funding Inc., an Arizona nonprofit corporation.

The contest is open to the original work of journalists published in 2023 in a newspaper or magazine in the West, on a news or opinion website or app that primarily serves the West or in an area of a website or app that primarily serves the West.

The journalists must be based in the West or working for a media outlet based in the West, which covers Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Washington or Wyoming. A majority of the content must have been produced by eligible journalists.

The main purpose of the newspaper, magazine, website or app must be to inform the public, rather than sell products or promote a business, government, nonprofit organization or ideology.

Learn more about general rules, eligibility, and competition categories here.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

More Opportunities

The True Story Award

The True Story Award is the first global journalism prize. Its aim is to make reporters’ voices known beyond the borders of their home countries,

View Details