Call for Entries: 2024 Dart Awards

The Dart Center is now accepting entries for the 30th annual Dart Awards for Excellence in Coverage of Trauma

The Dart Awards honor innovative, ethical and effective reporting on the impact of violence, crime, disaster and other traumatic events. Since 1994, they have recognized coverage that engages deeply with the toughest human experiences, and sets a new standard for grappling with the complexity of trauma and its impact on individuals, families and communities.

Recognizing coverage produced for North American outlets, the Dart Awards are the only journalism prize to reward and inspire in-depth trauma reporting across media. They are a team prize, recognizing that trauma reporting of the highest order demands a special commitment from news organizations. 

Entries must be received by January 30, 2024 at 3:00 pm MST.

The Dart Awards are judged by an interdisciplinary panel of journalists, mental health professionals, and survivor advocates. Judges will make two awards, each carrying a $5,000 cash prize. Winners will be honored in a public ceremony in September 2024 at the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism in New York City.

Past honorees share a commitment to telling a powerful story, offering respect and compassion to survivors, and to remaining sensitive to the complexity of a tragic event.

Click here for full submission guidelines.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

More Opportunities

The True Story Award

The True Story Award is the first global journalism prize. Its aim is to make reporters’ voices known beyond the borders of their home countries,

View Details