The Poynter Journalism Prizes

The 2024 Poynter Journalism Prizes will honor the extraordinary journalism produced in 2023, with categories that take into account the important stories that unfolded across the past 12 months. We urge news organizations of all sizes to enter, and judges will take into consideration the special circumstances that many or most outlets, including smaller ones, had to face to produce excellent journalism.

All news websites, news services (including radio, TV stations and magazines) and newspapers in the United States are eligible to enter. Each nominating organization must create its own account to enter.

The categories for this year’s awards are:
Batten Medal
Frank A. Blethen Award for Local Accountability Reporting
Roy Peter Clark Prize for Excellence in Short Writing
First Amendment Award
Deborah Howell Award for Writing Excellence
Dori J. Maynard Justice Award
Robert G. McGruder Award for Diversity Leadership 
Burl Osborne Editorial and Opinion Award
Mike Royko Award for Commentary and Column Writing
Punch Sulzberger Innovator of the Year Award

Learn more and enter by 4 p.m. MST Friday, February 16, 2024.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

More Opportunities

The True Story Award

The True Story Award is the first global journalism prize. Its aim is to make reporters’ voices known beyond the borders of their home countries,

View Details